Orange County home page


BOCC Group 2015

Orange County is governed by a seven-member board of commissioners, elected by district and at-large in partisan countywide elections. Commissioners serve four-year terms and elections are held in November of even-numbered years. New board members take office at the first meeting in December following the November election. At this meeting, commissioners take the oath of office and elect a chair and vice chair for the coming year. 

The primary duties of the board include adopting an annual budget, establishing the annual property tax rate, appointing various officials and representatives to advisory boards and commissions, planning for county needs and enacting local ordinances. The board also has the authority to call bond referenda, enter into contracts and establish new programs and departments. 

The Board of Commissioners meets regularly at 7:00 p.m., usually on the first and third Tuesdays of the month. The first Tuesday meeting is usually held at the Whitted Meeting Room, 300 W. Tryon St, Hillsborough. The second Tuesday meeting is held in the board room of the Southern Human Services Center, 2501 Homestead Road, Chapel Hill.  Meeting days and locations may be adjusted due to holidays or additional meetings/work sessions may be added.  Check the BOCC calendar for an up-to-date schedule.  All meetings are open to the public.

Contact information for the Commissioners is listed below or you may call the Clerk to the Board at 919.245.2130.  The Clerk's office is located at 200 S. Cameron Street in Hillsborough, NC and open weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., except on County observed holidays

E-mail All Commissioners


Earl McKee

Earl McKee - Chair

5200 Kiger Road

Rougemont, NC 27572

Phone: 919.812.3248

Email: emckee



Bernadette Pelissier

Bernadette Pelissier - Vice Chair

4516 Mystic Lane

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Phone: 919.643.2762

Email: bpelissier



Mia Burroughs

Mia Day Burroughs

110 Cedar Hills Drive

Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Phone: 919.932.6282

Email: mburroughs



Mark Dorosin

Mark Dorosin

113 Creekview Circle

Carrboro, NC 27510

Phone: 919.967.1486

Email: mdorosin



Commissioner Jacobs 

Barry Jacobs

2105 Moorefields Road

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Phone: 919.732.4384

Email: bjacobs



Renee Price

Renee Price

1701 Riverside Dr.

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Phone: 919.619.1139

Email: rprice



Penny Rich

Penny Rich

109 Oldham Place

Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Phone: 919.428.5952

Email: prich