Orange County home page

 

Nutrition Links

General Nutrition/Health

American Dietetic Association - www.eatright.org

American Heart Association - www.americanheart.org

American Diabetes Association - www.diabetes.org

American Academy of Pediatrics - www.aap.org

Web MD - www.webmd.com

Center for Science in the Public Interest - http://www.cspinet.org/

Food and Nutrition Information Center - http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/

Nutrition.Gov - www.nutrition.gov

USDA Nutrition and Your Health - www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines

NHLBI Nutrition Guide - www.heartinfo.org

Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion -  http://www.usda.gov/cnpp/

Washington State Dairy Council - www.eatsmart.org

The Vegetarian Resource Group - www.vrg.org

Produce for Better Health Foundation - www.5aday.com

NC Folic Acid Council - www.getfolic.com

North Carolina Nutrition Services Branch - www.nutritionNC.com

Menu Planning and Recipes

American Heart Association Delicious Decisions - www.deliciousdecisions.org

Food Fit - www.foodfit.com

NHLBI Interactive Menu Planner - http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/heart/obesity/lose_wt/menuplanner.html

Mayo Clinic - http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/basics/nutrition-basics/hlv-20049477

Cooking Light Magazine - www.cookinglight.com

Weight Management

Calorie Control Council - www.caloriecontrol.org

USDA Interactive Healthy Eating Index - www.usda.gov/cnpp

NHLBI Body Mass Index (BMI) Calculator - http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/obesity/BMI/bmicalc.htm

The Diet Channel - www.thedietchannel.com

Fit Day - www.fitday.com

Physical Activity

Be Active Kids - www.beactivekids.org

American Heart Association - Getting Healthy: Physical Activity - http://heart.org/HEARTORG/GettingHealthy/PhysicalActivity/Physical-Activity_UCM_001080_SubHomePage.jsp

Shape Up America! - www.shapeup.org

Food Safety

FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition - www.foodsafety.gov

Fight BAC - www.fightbac.org

NC Cooperative Extension Service - http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/

Childhood Nutrition

Nutrition for Kids - www.kidshealth.org

Kids Health - www.kidshealth.org

Healthy Choices - www.healthychoices.org

Nutrition Café - www.exhibits.pacsci.org/nutrition

Nutrition Explorations - www.nutritionexplorations.com

National Dairy Council - www.nationaldairycouncil.org/Pages/Home.aspx