Solid Waste Advisory Group

The Solid Waste Advisory Group (SWAG) was created by the Orange County Board of Commissioners in June 2014, to develop a draft inter-local agreement between the Towns of Hillsborough, Chapel Hill and Carrboro and Orange County. It now includes representation from UNC Chapel Hill, and UNC Healthcare.

Meetings begin at 6 p.m. and unless otherwise specified, are held at the Solid Waste Management Administration Center:

1207 Eubanks Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Meeting Location Map


  • Penny Rich, Orange County Commissioner
  • Mark Marcoplos, Orange County Commissioner
  • Brad Ives, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, UNC Chapel Hill
  • Mel Hurston, UNC HealthCare
  • Mark Bell, Hillsborough Town Board
  • Pam Hemminger, Mayor, Town of Chapel Hill
  • Donna Bell, Chapel Hill Town Council
  • Lydia Lavelle, Mayor, Town of Carrboro
  • Randee Haven-O'Donnell, Carrboro Board of Aldermen
  • Matt Hughes, Hillsborough Town Board